Skip to content

Some projects…

September 12, 2010

I’ve been busy with my Home Ec sewing projects the past week.  I am seriously loving my new hobby.  It’s such a great feeling of accomplishment to finish a project and actually be happy with the outcome!  I’ve always felt like I am a creative person but struggled the past few years trying to find an outlet.  Also, sewing is a lot more fun than plopping (what a terrible word!) in front of the television and becoming a reality tv zombie…although that’s pretty fun sometimes too.

Last weekend I made a few zippered pouches.  It was my first time working with zippers and it was a lot easier than I thought it would be.

Then I tackled some pillow covers, which I was in desperate need of as the pillows on our couch were starting to look a little rough.  The covers were made with piping around the edges and I love the look.  I loved it enough to make 3 of them!

I guess I was feeling a little extra ambitious this weekend, because as soon as I was done with my third pillow cover, I started another project, a valance for the window over our kitchen sink.  I’ve been looking for months for valances to buy for this window, so when I signed up for this Home Ec class and saw they were teaching curtains, I knew I was going to run with it and take care of all our naked windows!  I decided to start with the window above our sink because there is a large wire running above our window frame that I desperately want to hide.  It was there when we moved in and we have no idea what the wire is for.  The only thing we can think of is there may have been a light above the window at some time.  And instead of taking the time to remove said wire, WHY NOT JUST COVER IT UP?  Ha!  Seems like an okay solution for the time being.  I really love how it turned out!  I’m going to make a matching one for our other kitchen window.

I guess I should have tidied up the kitchen a bit before taking this photo, but here is proof that my house is not always orderly.

I’m sure I’ll have some more to show you this week.  I’ve had some extra time to myself to get a lot of sewing done because Chad has taken up golf.  He’s been going golfing with his dad about 3 times a week.  We are SO old.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 11:22 pm

    Holy smoke, you’ve been busy! Your projects are turning out great. The pillows are so fun – I’m sure they’re really brightening up your place.

    Keep it up!
    emily

    • September 13, 2010 7:57 am

      I am totally happy with those pillows! I was a little nervous since the project was similar to the double-sided napkins with the ric-rac and that was a total disaster for me! I feel like the piping is a little easier because you can feel where it’s at in between the fabrics so it’s less of a guessing game! 🙂

  2. Terrie permalink
    September 12, 2010 11:45 pm

    you have some serious talent for having just started! im jealous of those pillows!

    • September 13, 2010 7:53 am

      Thanks! The piping on those pillows was totally intimidating at first!

  3. September 13, 2010 3:54 pm

    Look at you go! I have to say that I see several fabrics that I purchased at Joann’s recently for some of my projects! Love your pillows.

    • September 13, 2010 3:59 pm

      Thanks so much! Yeah, I’ve pretty much exclusively gotten all my fabrics at Joanns! I could spend HOURS in that store! Love it!

Leave a Reply

