Skip to content

This tote was made for tote-in’.

August 24, 2010

I made that!  Pretty cute, huh?  Again, I’m pretty dang proud of myself with this whole sewing thing.  I think I’m getting the hang of it!  The fabric is from Joann’s and it was actually a “nursery” fabric…so it’s not being used in a baby’s nursery, but I think it makes a pretty fabulous bag anyway.  I haven’t actually used it yet.  Right now it’s just hanging in my house so I can stare at it  every time I walk past it and say to Chad, “I made that!”.  Yeah he’s getting pretty annoyed by it, like I’m sure you are (GAWD LADY!  Shut up!  We get it.  You made it.).  Eventually however, I would enjoy carrying things in it.

I’m way behind on the sewing projects taught in my Home Ec class, but that’s okay since it’s a go at your own pace kind of class.  One of the reasons I’m behind though is because Chad finally caved and agreed that the sewing room (slash guest room slash music room) should be painted!  I didn’t think it was going to take me that long, but I ran into some troubles when I opened the paint and saw that my color had been mixed improperly and I came home with a VERY dark greenish, blueish gray instead of a light/medium gray.  I thought it was way off when I opened the can but decided that maybe I was crazy and once it was up on the walls and dry, it would magically be the color I chose.  So I painted an entire wall with it.  It was not the color I chose.  By the time I was done with all that, the paint store was closed so I had to wait until Sunday to go back and get the correct color.  Bummer.  Plus, I’m painting all the trim and closet white, and that takes FOREVAAAR!  But it will all be worth it in the end when I’m finished.  I’ll be sure to take a bunch of after pictures.  It will be a work in progress though, because there are a bunch of prints I’ve found on etsy that I would love to frame and hang in that room once it’s painted, but my budget is telling me to be less spontaneous and to stop putting things on credit cards (credit card debt is bad!), so I will have to just buy a little at a time until I’m satisfied with how the room has turned out.

Plus, I’ve already spent a pretty penny on some fabrics that are currently being shipped to me (hurry please!)…

I got more of the above fabric that I used to make my tote, plus a few others…

Aren’t they lovely?  I also got a simple green fabric and brown fabric because I have decided that it’s time to tackle curtains for my kitchen that has been curtain-less for going on 2 years now.

I think there needs to be more hours in the day…or less time at the day job!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

