Skip to content

I’m totally repainting this room.

August 16, 2010

Chad and I are having a little disagreement on what’s going to happen to the upstairs room that has recently gone from the guest room/music/skateboard room into the guest room/music/skateboard/MY SEWING ROOM.  It’s really a lovely room.  It’s the first room you walk into as you are going up our stairs.  They say our house is 1 and 1/2 stories…which basically means that the attic was finished to make more living space and the ceiling is tall in the center and then angles downward towards the outside walls.  Here are some pictures to give you an idea of how we have it set up right now. (sorry for the darkish photos…how do people take such lovely photos of rooms in their home?  It’s really hard!  I’m thinking I’m going to have to splurge at some point and get a decent flash.)

The stairway going up to “the room”

Here’s my sewing table (messy!) and the bed…which now is covered in prepubescent boy bedding.  It was cute for a second since this is also our music room, but now it just looks a little weird.

The other side of the room is where we stash the guitar/bass/keyboard/various amps…and it’s also a place where all of our pets like to hang out apparently.

Here’s another view of the music side of the room.  As you can see, we have a couple skateboard decks (Slayer boards! and signed Dennis Busenitz board!) that are desperately wanting to be hung on the wall.

Chad does not want me to repaint this room.  I’m going to repaint this room.  The red was cool, but it’s been up a couple years and I’m needing a change.  I admit that the red does look good with the instruments and skateboards, but I think I can make it look nice with a different color…a lighter color.  I’m thinking gray.  I would be painting the railing around the staircase white along with the window frame.

See that awesome yellow lamp on my sewing table?  I kind of bought that with the intention of repainting the room gray, because I am loving the gray/yellow color combo right now.  I bought the lamp before mentioning to Chad that I was intending to repaint the room gray.  Does this make me a bad wife that I’m going against the wishes of my husband and redecorating a room to my liking?  Don’t answer that, because I’m going to do it anyway.

To update you on my progress in my online Home Ec class, I LOVE IT!  I’m not great and still feel pretty awkward in front of a sewing machine, but I think I’m doing pretty good.  Here is what I have made so far…

Pin Cushion!  Isn’t it adorable?

Cloth Napkin!  I love this fabric.

Drawstring Gift Bag!  I made a little mistake on this…totally didn’t mean for the name of the fabric store to be on this bag, but it’s still cute, so let’s just pretend that was intentional! 🙂

Later in the class, we are learning to make duvet covers and you better believe that bed up in the sewing room is going to get a little make-over.  And Chad’s going to LOVE it.  Or else.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 10:47 pm

    Hey Classmate!
    I really like your projects so far, your pincushion especially. I would have never thought to put that combination of fabrics together, but they complement each other so well!
    See you in class, -e

    • August 18, 2010 11:35 am

      Thanks! I was really proud of my pin cushion since it was my first project since 7th grade home ec class! 🙂
      I just checked out your blog and your stuff looks awesome! I’m totally jealous of your ric rac skills…I had to give up on the two sided napkins because they looked like crap! Haha! Can’t wait to see more of your projects!

      • August 18, 2010 11:48 am

        Haha! Yeah, the ric rac was really hard, especially since we can’t see where we’re sewing because it’s under the fabric. I think mine was beginner’s luck.

        I love your idea of the grey walls (and the yellow accents). That, and painting the railing will really help lighten up that room (and maybe you’ll avoid having to invest in a new flash for your camera!). I love that color scheme, too. And I think the grey is “tough” enough for your music equipment. It’ll look great! You’re not a bad wife. 🙂

Leave a Reply

