Skip to content

Home Ec

August 1, 2010

I’ve wanted to learn to sew for a very long time, but I knew this wouldn’t be something that I could teach myself.  I never bought a sewing machine, because I just knew it would sit in the box for years until someone came along to teach me.  My grandma would sew things for us growing up…mostly patching up holes in the knees of our pants, but I was never really interested in having her teach me how to use her sewing machine.  It’s definitely something I regret now.

The other day, I was catching up on one of my favorite blogs and saw she had posted about a “home ec” sewing class that three of her friends are teaching.  It’s an online class for beginners (ME!) and they say it’s great even for people with NO SEWING EXPERIENCE (ME!). Also, it’s a “go at your own pace” kind of class, which is really helpful since I don’t have a lot of free time Monday-Friday because of work.  It was too perfect to pass up, so I signed myself up.  Only problem…I don’t have a sewing machine.

I read review after review of different machines online and finally settled on a Brother XL2600i, because all the reviews were good and the price wasn’t bad either.  I didn’t want to go all out and spend a fortune on a top of the line machine when I haven’t touched a sewing machine since 7th grade home ec class, so I got a machine that I think will be great for my skill level.

I ordered it online and I should get it before the class starts, and I could not be more excited!  There are so many things I want to create for our home, and it will be so much more rewarding knowing that I made these things rather than going out and buying them.  And I think my windows will thank me as they have been naked since November of 2008.

Chad has already given me a sewing project to work on too!  There is a gaping hole in the crotch of his pajama pants now which must have occurred while he was showing his mom how high he could kick happened due to his bulging muscles.  Ahh, boys…

If you are interested in signing up for the Home Ec class, just click the link above or the Home Ec widget on the top right hand side of the screen!   Class starts on August 10th!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

