Skip to content

100

May 6, 2010

This past Saturday, Chad and I had the privilege of attending a 100th birthday party in my hometown (Lafayette, IN).

My great-aunt Ruth (aka Auntie Ruth) was born in 1910.  1910!  William Taft was president when she was born…you know…the fat guy that got stuck in the bathtub.  She has lived through World War I, prohibition, the Great Depression, World War II, desegregation of the schools, the JFK assassination, and the Vietnam War JUST TO NAME A FEW.  Think of how much technology has changed in the past 100 years.  Televisions weren’t even around when she was born, and now we can watch television on our cellphones while texting our mothers about something crazy we saw on facebook while surfing the internet on our laptop computer.  A lot has changed in the last 100 years!

The party was great.  It was nice to see family that I hadn’t seen in probably 5-10 years!  There was an open bar…at a 100th birthday party, which makes me think my brother is probably really upset he couldn’t make it.  Nothing got too crazy though, just the usual happenings when my family gets together.  We all make fun of what everyone is wearing (my mom referred to my sister’s shrug sweater as a toddler’s sweater) and we stuff our faces.

Chad happens to know a couple of my cousins.  Actually, he knew my cousins long before he even knew me, so it was nice that he was able to catch up with them.  We made the mistake of going out to a bar with them after the party.  Did I mention that we had to drive an hour and a half home afterward?  I told Chad I didn’t want to stay out much later than 11:00 so we could go out, see some friends, and then get on the road so as to avoid me falling asleep at the wheel.  That is not how it went down, unfortunately.  I think I was dragging Chad back to the car around 2:00 in the morning.  We moved away from Lafayette about 3 years ago and he has probably drank on maybe three occasions since we moved.  There is a reason for that.  I don’t necessarily want to relive that car ride home, like…EVER, so let’s just say that my car now smells like an amusement park and I keep telling Chad that he owes me BIG TIME and should probably plan on buying me something nice in the near future.  If you have any suggestions on how to fully rid a vehicle from that GOD AWFUL vomit smell, please let me know.

But we made it home…and did I mention that my Auntie Ruth turned 100 years old?!

Oh, and I had on a really cute outfit (that dress has pockets!)…ignore the facial expression.  I was probably talking shit about my sister’s sweater.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 6:03 pm

    I’ve never skated at a park like this, and this made me want to try it! Good shots.

    • May 16, 2010 9:10 pm

      I’ve tried skating a couple times…it never ended well. I love capturing my husband skating though! It totally makes me want to try getting on a board again!

Leave a Reply

