Skip to content

Our Home.

April 19, 2010

This is our first home and, to me, it will always be the most special.  We moved into this house in the fall of 2008…I can’t believe it’s been almost 2 years!  I never would have imagined that I’d be a homeowner at 24, but it’s something that makes me really proud of how far we’ve come…from being thousands of dollars in credit card debt (thanks college!), to finding decent jobs without a college degree (thanks for nothin’ college!), to paying off that credit card debt, to purchasing a HOME of our very own.  It was really hard and overwhelming, but the payoff has been incredible.

I always admired older homes so you can imagine my delight when I found out ours was built in 1920.  It has so much character that you just don’t find in newer homes.  Arched doorways.  Built-in shelving.  Glass doorknobs.  Real hardwood floors.  Names written in the cement in the garage dated 1959.  Little marks on the inside of our pantry door where parents have measured their children and watched them grow.

I love that we live close enough that I can walk to the trail that I’ve been running on, especially on Sunday when I didn’t particularly feel like walking to the trail…so I drove…and then locked my keys in my car…and had to walk home.  It felt like the walk of shame without the smeared make-up and borrowed basketball shorts.  BUT, we live so CLOSE!  No big deal!

I love that we have a cute little covered front porch where we can sit and enjoy the nippy spring breeze in the evenings or a nice cup of coffee in the morning. (you know, if I drank coffee…)

I love our red door and…

our “little knocker”.

Most importantly, I love that we bought this home together.

It’s our home.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    April 19, 2010 7:59 pm

    Awww…I’m so proud of both of you!!!!

Leave a Reply

