Skip to content

Couch to 5K

March 29, 2010

As you know…I’m trying to lose weight.  I’ve lost a few pounds so far (nothing to write home about) by spending some quality time with Billy Blanks and trying to watching my portions.

I’ve heard a lot of good things about the Couch to 5K Program and now that the weather is decent, I think I could probably get out 3 times a week to run.  I’ve never been good at running.  I pretty much feel like I’m suffocating the minute I start at a slow jog.  I’ve always felt like this…even when I used to be active in sports in high school and somewhat “in shape”.  However, I think I’m going to need to start doing things that I don’t feel comfortable doing now so that I can start seeing results.  And how cool will it be when I can successfully run a 5K straight through without a break?  At this point, I don’t think I could even run a mile half a mile without an ambulance nearby to rescue me from cardiac arrest.

I guess I better find my running shoes!  Is anyone else (seriously, speak up damnit) starting any fitness program?  Had any success?  Please share…I need all the help I can get!

Edited to add:  So I’m pretty embarrassed that this:

is the first picture in my flickr photostream that you all see over there on the right…on a post where I’m talking about trying to lose weight.  I didn’t say it hasn’t been very, very (HOLY CRAP, it’s hard, guys), very hard to limit my portions when my husband is cooking gigantic cheeseburgers and homemade fries for lunch.  I say everyone is allowed one cheat meal per week and…well, this was it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

